(As of December1978)

These errata apply to the second-edition rules only. If the reader does not posses a copy that states clearly on the cover (of the rules) that it is a second edition rules, then he may obtain a copy of the second-edition by sending SPI the rules cover, and a self-addressed 9 by 12 inch manila envelope with $0.95 postage on the envelope.


[15.61] (addition) Note 3 should now read "Units that are Disrupted. Depleted or in Travel Mode (with the exception of ''pure'' armor) cannot fire and their Effectiveness Rating is zero.''

[8.72] (addition) The third line, of Note 3 should read "0 Effectiveness Rating (with the exception of ''pure'' armor); Current strength ..."

[14.11] (change) The weather Condition Table below replaces the one printed in the game.

0201-0600 1201-1400
Dice North South Dice North South
2 0 0 2 3 6
3 9 10 3 9 10
4 6 7 4 3 3
5 3 3 5 P 7
6 0 0 6 6 6
7 6 6 7 P P
8 0 0 8 0 0
9 P 6 9 6 3
10 3 0 0 3 6
11 11 8 1 0 0
12 3 0 2 11 8


AlIied Formation Display (deletion) Delete the paragraphs starting with ''Group z:: ..." to "...on or after Game-Turn 3." The actual Turns for the release of off-map units are given in Case 31.17.


[3.6] (omission) the third sentence in this Case should read '' Each Armor unit represents a platoon and each Artillery unit represents a battery."

[5.22] (addition) An exception to this Case is Case 5.29.

[5.23] (deletion) In the fifth line of the Case, strike the phrase "and heavy Weapons'', as Heavy Weapons units are not Indirect Fire units, per se.

[5.29] (addition) "Pure'' Armor units (i.e -. those units with just the armor symbol and nothing else) have 5 (five) deducted from their Effectiveness Rating when in Travel Mode. They may fire when in Travel Mode.

[5.32] (addition) The second-to-last sentence should read "lf the target is in Travel Mode the unit must take an additional one Strength Point loss, and the owning Player may place it in Dispersed or Concentrated Mode immediately. However. if he elects to change the Mode of The target unit, it is autornatically Disrupted at the end of the Fire Phase." Ignore the parenthesized remark, as it no longer applies.



[5.71] Tank desiroyer units possessing both Travel and Concentrated Mode defend as armored artillery (which defends as it rnoves). The other tank destroyer units defend as normal armor.

[5.72] Armored infantry in Dispersed Mode defends as regular infantry. In any other Mode armored infantry defends as regular armor.

[6.0] PROCEDURE (clarification)

Delete the last 'sentence and replace it with the following: 'Note that the target unit's hex is considered for blocking purposes (of Line of Sight), and the Observing unit's hex has no effect whatsoever on the Line of Sight.

[6.14] (addition) A unit may always observe a directly adjacent unit, regardless of the intervening terrain or the terrain of the hex in which the adjacent unit is situated.

[6.4] (clarification) Exception (a) should read "any dispersed in a city of Forest hex not adjacent to a unit Friendly to the Airstrike."

[6.63] (correction) Since ther is no Weather Condition 12, ignore all references to that Weather Condition.

[7.62] (addition) Insert "(exception: "pure" Armor units)" between "... travel Mode" and "exert no Zone of Control."

[8.6] (clarification) At the end of the sentence in the eleventh line, add the phrase "but do not necessaily have to begin the Conditional Movement adjacent to the Close Assaulted unit."

[8.9] (addition) Armored Infantry units are prohibited from crossing a Stream or a Dike in and of themselves (an Engineer may still aid them across a Stream).

[10.5] (correction) The reference to Friendly "Combat" Phase should read Friendly Command Phase.

[10.51] (clarification) The Case should read "Armor (with the exception of Armored Infantry) is prohibited from ever using Entrenchments. All other units may benefit from Entrenchments (including the aforementioned Armored Infantry)."

[10.6] (clarification) When determining Line of Sight, the hex in which the Headquaarters is located matters for the Line of Sight, but the hex in which the other unit is located has no effect on the Line of Sight whatsoever.

[10.6] (note) the City hexes A2338 and B3533 are treated as Forts for Line of Sight purposes only.

[10.71] (clarification) Therefore, if a unit performs Movement in one of the above-mentioned hexes, it does not trigger Opportunity Fire.

[10.73] (addition) If a unit Close Assaults from a Forest or City hes or through a Dike hexside, the unit still pays the Movement cost for leaving a Zone of Control, even though such a unit is not technically in a Zone of Control. The Movement cost is a standard penalty for performing a Close Assault.

[10.93] (deletion) The last sentence in this Case should be ignored, as it serves only to confuse the Players.

[13.51] (correction) The opening sentence should read "At the conclusion of his Conditional Movement Phase a Player may remove his units from Travel Mode at the cost of one Movement Point."

[14.1] (clarification) When rolling for the Weather Condition, the Players roll first for the Northern Weather Condition, and then for the Southern Weather Condition.

[14.11] (change) On the first day (17 September) all units landing on Maps A, B and D must use the Northern Route, and all units landing on Map C must use the Southern route.

[14.12] (deletion/change) The lst sentence should be deleted and the second-to-last (and now last) sentence should read "... the units on Maps A, C and D have the same option as the units on Map B."

[14.5] (clarification) If a unit or group of units lands in a hex causing overstacking, one (or more) units in that stack must immediately be moved to an adjacent hex. Artillery units may not be displaced (the owning Player may eliminate them and, should he have no choice, he must eliminate an artillery unit in an overstack). If a unit displaced from one stack in turn displaces a unit in another stack, the second unit is Disrupted.

[14.51] (deletion/change) The second sentence in the Case should be deleted. With the exception of displacement, a unit may not be moved in the Turn that it lands. There are no other exceptions to this rule.

[14.52] (deletion) The last sentence should be deleted.

[15.18] (change) A Disruption result has absolutely no effect on a previously Disrupted unit. Similarly, a "1*" result only forces a non-Armor or non-Headquarters to lose one Strength Point: the Disruption has no effect whatsoever.

[17.21] and [17.22] (clarification) An artillery unit (with the exception of anti-tank and flak) does not cause a multi-formation attack so long as the Indirect Fire unit it is firing with can trace a line of subordination to the artillery unit's commanding headquarters. if the units are not commonly subordinated it is a multi-formation attack. Anti-tank and flak units fall under the rules for Direct Fire units, with the exception that they may fire with a unit that can trace a line of subordination to the Headquarter they are directly subordinated to and not cause a multi-formation attack.

[18.1] (correction) The reference in the ninth line to Direct fire should read "Indirect fire." Under no circumstances may a Direct Fire unit fire from a position that is not one of the top two in a stack.

[18.41] (clarification/addition) The reference in the tenth line to "a Morale of +1" should read "a Morale greater than zero (i.e. positive)." In addition, a Combat Engineer must be in Concentrated Mode (though it may be any position in a stack) to perform any of its special functions.

[18.6] ARTILLERY UNITS (addition)

Artillery units in a Close Assault perform in all ways as an Anti-Tank unit.

[19.12] (clarification) The Case should read (in the second sentence) "...the Leader must be stacked with a unit involved in the attack subordinated to him, and all other units ..."

[23.0] (note) Should the Players choose to implement one or more of the optional rules enumerated in this Section, they must interpret the rules should apparent contradictions occur.

[23.0] (note) Though elements of the 9th SS Recon Battaliion were sent to the scene of the battle, and part of the 10th SS Panzer Division were sent to Nijmegen area, the Players must work with the hand they were dealt, as it were. The Players may only recreate this situation in the Campaign Game, and are under no obligation to do so.

[30.43] (correction) The Allied bombardment may be used on Game-Turn 2 before the start of play, or it may be used on Game-Turn 3.

[30.44] (correction) The units subordinated to the II {sic - 10th?} SS Panzer Division may become part of the KG Wltr ind HQ supply net (the HQ begins the game at D1616). The FBx headquarters does not enter this scenario, nor is it situated anywhere near the XXXth Corps (as anyone can tell from looking at the German Formation Display). In addition, the reference to the "recce battalion" in the last sentence should be ingnored; Players should mentally subsitute "units of the II {sic} SS Panzer Division".

[30.47] (addition) All bridges on the start line are eligible for demolition at the beginning of Phase 13. The German Player must immediately decide whether he wishes to blow the bridges.

[31.21] (addition) Case 30.47 is also used in the Campaign Game.

My thanks to David Ross inparticular, and those who sent in intelligent question and suggestions in general. Those people who inquired whether they should bumit articles and were rebuffed should now send thos articles to Redmond Simonsen(editor of MOVES) or myself, as the several necessary changes and ommissions that did not get into the 2nd Edition have no been rectified. I encourage the continued submittal of any new ideas to the game; I believe that the game has been too long neglected because of its rule problems.

Eric Goldberg