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Prepared by Glenn Rahman








[DESIGNER'S NOTE:  When asked to do errata for the Intermediate Game, I found a limited number of true errors.  But wherever I see a possibility for doubt or misunderstanding about a rule, I have gone ahead and explained its meaning in detail.  Thus this errata may also be considered something of an expert commentary on the rules of the Intermediate Game.]





SPECIAL CLARIFICATION:  Sometimes in these rules a unit is described as being unable to attack or siege under certain conditions (such as the Stubstaff Guards not being stacked with the Black Knight).  Such a unit need not be displaced from a stack involved in combat or siege; simply count its value as zero.  Such a unit should be chosen last if loses for combat or siege are taken out of a stack.








Page 1, INTERMEDIATE UNITS.





CORRECTION:  The description of the Epidemic Marker mentions the "Advanced Game."  This is an error and the term should be "Intermediate Game."








Page 2, THE LEPERS





CLARIFICATION: Paragraph 1.  The phrase "never do any fighting" should read, "never attack in regular combat."





CHANGE: Paragraph 3.  Units which may attack the Lepers (other than the Eaters of Wisdom) do not need to retreat, but their owning player may allow them to retreat if he wishes.





ADDITION.  OPTIONAL:  The players may allow that certain nonhumans who are presumably unable to catch the Lepers disease my also attack them.  This includes the Ghost Riders, Hamahara, Llomar, and Ogsbogg.








Page 2, SMALL BOATS.





CHANGE:  If the port is friendly to the hero, he need not wait until the next Movement Phase to take a Small Boat.  He may simply move into the friendly port, deploy a Small Boat in his space, and move on the water using whatever movement points he has left.  Thus if Fox expends 3 movement points to enter a friendly Adeese, she can continue into by Small Boat into the Sea of Zett for up to 4 additional spaces.  Inside an unfriendly port, the hero must wait until the beginning of their own Movement Phase before gaining a Small Boat.  A hero exiting an enemy castle or stack by Small Boat must take a Hero Fate Roll, as always.





CLARIFICATION:  If a hero does not use all of the movement points of a Small Boat, the hero retains that  so many movement points for continued movement by land.  For example, if Fox sailed downstream on the Deep River for just 4 movement points (on a Small Boat with 8 movement points) she could leave the Small boat and move on land using up to 4 movement points. 





ADDITION:  If a hero in a small boat enters a navigable river space controlled by an enemy fleet, they must make a Hero Fate Roll. 








Page 2, WOUNDED HEROES.





CORRECTION:  Roll Result #6.  The sentence, "If the result is even, the hero is only removed form play for 6 game turns," should come after the parenthesis, not before it.





CLARIFICATION:  Paragraph 5.  If a monarch is so severely Wounded that their Wound roll indicates they will be gone for the whole rest of the game and their kingdom goes into Confusion, it gains a new monarch when it emerges from Confusion.  (This may technically be only a regent for a helpless invalid monarch, but they function as an ordinary monarch and have a Personality Card of their own).








Page 3, SIEGE ROLL MODIFICATION.





The first sentence should read, "Some special  units or rules can modify the Siege Roll."








Page 3, COMBAT DIE MODIFICATION.





CLARIFICATION:  This means to say that no matter how many die-modifying leaders, combat units, or magical devices a stack has, its roll may not be increased by more than +3.  Other factors may apply, though.  For example, defending on a mountain space could increase the roll modification in excess of +3.








PAGED 3, BARBARIAN TRIBES.





CORRECTION:  Paragraph 5.  There are only 4 named counters in each tribe.  Therefore a player may not have more than 4 different stacks of any one type of Barbarian.





ADDITION:  Make this the new last paragraph of the section:





"If there are insufficient Barbarians in the unused pool consisting of the player's selected tribal name (Raiders, Marauders, etc.) and the 6 unnamed tribal units, they may take the difference owned them from any other player(s) who possesses unnamed tribal units of the same type on the map.  Thus the player always gets the full number which is called for by his recruiting roll (though he cannot control more than 10 Barbarian units)."











Page 3, OGRES.





CLARIFICATION:  Paragraph 1.  The mention of the Haven does not take into account a late-stage map change.  Ignore it.  Also, the reference to Ogsbogg as a leader is misleading.  His combat unit may act as a leader of Ogres in a sense, but he is always considered a combat unit.





CORRECTION:  Paragraph 4.  The last sentence should read, “If a hero is "captured" by an Ogre, treat it as a Wound.”





ADDITION:  Make this the new last paragraph:





"Ogres will not attack in concert with other friendly combat units.  (However, see OGSBOGG THE OGRE).”








Page 5, THE BLACK HAND.





CLARIFICATION:  THE UNDEAD.  It takes 3 turns to build all 3 of the Undead.





CLARIFICATION:  THE SOULS OF THE DAMNED.  This "attack" by the Damned, even if losses are taken, is not considered ordinary combat.  After their retreat, adjacent enemy combat units may still attack units assailed that have been by the Damned.  Heroes who must suffer a Hero Fate Roll because of the Damned, do not need to take another roll that player turn, not even if their stack loses a subsequent combat with other enemy combat units.





CLARIFICATION:  THE WINGS OF DARKNESS.  The focus of the Wings’ range is the space where the Black Hand is located.  The Wings may affect only one combat within their range.  Place the Wings above the enemy stack to be attacked.  For a hero to need a Hero Fate Roll, it must be in the same space as the Wings.








Page 6, MAGICAL DEVICES.





CLARIFICATION:  The listed magical devices are placed here in error.  They properly should have been listed in the later section entitled "MAGIC RANDOMIZER (MR).”





CORRECTION:  BOX OF FAR-WISHING.  Unlike other devices, the Box is too large and heavy to be transported by any means except by fleet, the Airboat, Small Boat, Hamahara ,or by land.  If carried by Hamahara, it takes the space that 2 hero-riders would normally take.





CORRECTION:  HIRMOR'S HORN.  First paragraph.  The phrase "the enemy Combat Roll" should read, "the enemy Combat Phase."





CORRECTION, Third paragraph.  If the player finds out that the space that a relief force is summoned to is too far away to reach, the move may be taken back without unit losses.  The futile march was never made.





SUBSTITUTION:  SHADOW CLOAK.  The section should read:





"A hero may enter the Shadow World at will and stay in it for as long as they wish and it will count as only one use.  But leaving the Shadow World calls for a roll.  Magical heroes add 2 to the die.  If the result ifs less than the number of times the hero has already visited the Shadow World, the hero is lost and must remain in the Shadow World until he finds the way out.  Treat this situation as a Wound.  If the "Wound" result would mean incapacity for the remainder of the game, treat it as death, just as if it were an ordinary Wound."





"The Shadow Cloak may also be used defensively (i.e. to hide from enemy units searching the hero's space in the enemy Movement or Combat Phase)."





"If the Cloak is passed to another hero, the ‘use count’ is set back to ‘zero’ for the new hero."








Page 6, TEMPLE OF KINGS.





ADDITION:  Naara may also enter the Temple, since she is considered by the priests to be only an animal who is outside the rule of exclusion.  (To avoid confusion, we shall make Naara the only animal who may enter the Temple.  However, to enter she must be ridden by Daya or a monarch.)








Page 7, TALISMAN OF DISPEL.





ADDITION:  We shall allow the player owning the Talisman to voluntarily allow magic to work there.  For example, the player may desire an allied monarch with the Wand of Healing to save friendly combat units in the space where the Talisman is located.








Page 7, WAND OF HEALING.





Stacks containing the Wand of Healing suffer no Epidemics at all, unless the stack is 10 or more combat units in strength (this being only a play-balance feature).








Page 7, MAGIC RANDOMIZER (MR).





CORRECTION:  The sentence "All MR devices must be in the possession of a hero in order to operate," is incorrect.  Delete it.





CORRECTION:  Replace the last paragraph with this one:





"Combat units can move but not use a magic device.  If a hero deactivates or is removed from the map for any reason, the device is dropped in the space.  If other heroes or combat units (friendly or unfriendly) are also in the space, the device may be taken by one of them.  If dropped alone in a space, the device goes back to the randomizer (or becomes lost, if the rules of LOST AND FOUND TREASURE/MAGIC DEVICES are used)."








Page 7, GIFTS OF THE WANDERING PEOPLE.





In the second paragraph, the proper reference should be not to "Lost Magic Devices and Treasure," but "LOST AND FOUND TREASURE/MAGIC DEVICES."





CORRECTION;  The third paragraph is in error.  Delete it.





CHANGE:  FLYING CARPET.  The Flying Carpet may carry only three other magical devices.








Page 8, GREYSTAFF.  





CORRECTION:   Last paragraph.  In the first sentence, delete the word "surviving." 





CLARIFICATION:  The original rule implied that the boom routinely kills combat units.  For play-balance reasons this is disallowed.  Only the Fire Storm may destroy combat units.  Also, if a flying unit is destroyed by a Devil Wind while it is carrying a combat unit, the combat unit is destroyed.





ADDITION:  After besieging units are displaced from a castle destroyed by Greystaff, besieged units in the castle are displaced into a different space.  If there is no second space for the defender's displacement, the stack is eliminated.  Heroes are left unharmed.








Page 8, SPECIAL MERCENARIES (SM), 





CORRECTION:  Paragraph 2, SPECIAL MERCENARY RECRUITMENT.





In the counter mix, some units that enter play via the Special Mercenary Randomize have an identification code that is not underlined, but should have been.  These include:





The Ercii


Eloia


Nonnus


The Rogues





CLARIFICATION:  Some identification codes are in italics.  This is an error and has no meaning.





ADDITION:  If a player desired a professional Bodyguard to protect one his heroes, such men are available for hire.  Instead of taking a mercenary (or by expending a Treasure unit) in the Random Event Phase, a Bodyguard unit may be placed in any friendly castle.  These specially-recruited Bodyguards return to the out-of-stock if eliminated.  A player may recruit no more than 1 Bodyguard per game turn.








Page 9, SPECIAL MERCENARIES (MAJOR) - DIPLOMACY





CORRECTION:  Third paragraph.  The paragraph should read, "If a Major Special Mercenary is available for deployment, but its deployment space is occupied by enemy combat units, it cannot be deployed.  Set the card aside until the opportunity to deploy the unit arises during a future Random Events Phase.”





CLARIFICATION:  No matter how many Special Mercenary Diplomacy Cards he holds, a player may deploy only one major Special Mercenary in each of his Random Events Phases.








Page 9, CAPTURED SPECIAL MERCENARIES.  





CORRECTION:  The roll result #1-4 should read, "Mercenary is paroled and is returned to the Randomizer or, if a major Special Mercenary, the unit's card is discarded and the unit itself is placed off the map."








Page 9, SPECIAL MERCENARY LEADERS OR HEROES (SML)





CORRECTION:  A better title for this section would be simply, SPECIAL MERCENARY LEADERS (SML).  "HEROES" is redundant, since all leaders (other than Ogsbogg, who’s only a quasi-hero) are heroes.








Page 9, AL-DEBAR DESERTHAWK.





ADDITION:  Make this the next-to last paragraph:





"If a player has no friendly Southern Barbarian units, they may enter Al-Debar along with one Southern Barbarian unit on any clear southern map-edge space east of Trading Post."








Page 9, BILGE RAT (AND THE REAVER)





ADDITION:  A player may enter Bilge Rat in a port of the Sea of Zett, but the Reaver must be entered elsewhere, in a friendly port of the Great Sea.  If the player has no such friendly port, the Reaver can be held off the map until a Random Events Phase when such a port is available.








Page 10, THE USURPER.





In paragraph three, the last sentence is misleading.  The units are not redeployed on the map.  Instead, they are replaced into the off-board force pool for the kingdom and may be redeployed on the map when the kingdom next becomes active.





Page 10, NONNUS THE MISSIONARY.





CLARIFICATION:  The first paragraph should read:





"Nonnus and any heroes traveling with him don't need to take hero fate rolls if they enter a non-Castle space which is occupied by the Eaters of Wisdom, or by at least one combat unit which comes from a human kingdom other than Rombune or Shucassam.  The presence of an enemy monarch (other than the Eaters) may force Nonnus and his party to take normal Hero Fate Rolls, if the enemy player so wishes."





CLARIFICATION:  Nonnus' limited immunity from Hero Fate Rolls does not extend to unplundered enemy castles other than the Invisible School.








Page 11, THE GHOST RIDERS OF KHOS.





ADDITION:  “ A wide navigable river is particularly troublesome to the Ghost Riders.  They must stop on each bank if crossing.  However, if not crossing, they need only stop in the first navigable river space they enter, then are permitted to move along the same side of the river as if it was any other coastal spaces.” 








Page 11, OGSBOGG THE OGRE.





CLARIFICATION:  Second paragraph.  Ogsbogg does not give Ogres his combat bonus, because the Ogres already have such a bonus of their own.








Page 12, URMOFF THE SEA SERPENT.





CORRECTION:  In the last sentence of the second paragraph, "a long Urmoff," should read, "a lone Urmoff."








Page 12, THE VAH-KA-KA.





CLARIFICATION:  The three border spaces between Giant Pass and Rombune are also part of the Vah-Ka-Ka desert.








Page 12, THE WANDERING PEOPLE.





CLARIFICATION:  The first paragraph (describing the Wandering People Troop) should have come at the end of the section under its own heading of "THE WANDERING PEOPLE TROOP."








Page 12, THE ENGINEER. 





CORRECTION:  The last sentence in the section should read:





"If a friendly engineer occupies the same besieged castle as an enemy engineer, their Siege Roll modifiers cancel one another out."








Page 12, THE ROGUE.





CORRECTION:  Delete the line "(See Special Recruitment Spaces)"  That reference is made to a non-existent section.








Page 13, GREAT CAPTAINS.





ADDITION:  If a Great Captain is killed, return his counter to the Special Mercenary Randomizer.








Page 13, TREASURE.





CORRECTION:  The ending reference to "Lost Treasure and Magic Devices" should refer instead to "LOST AND FOUND TREASURES/MAGICAL DEVICES."








Page 13, THEFT.





CORRECTION:  Step C should read:  "Whether they find anything or not, they remain in place until the next Movement Phase.  The thief may be searched for by the enemy units or the castle ‘garrison.’"





CORRECTION:  The sixth paragraph should begin:  





"A hero traveling alone can be robbed by a thief.  In such a case, a thief must be in the same space as the hero and only on a roll of 5 or 6 will the robbery be successful."  The rest of the paragraph is correct.








Page 13, OATH OF FRIENDSHIP.





CLARIFICATION:  In the third paragraph delete the comma between "enemy" and "dies."  It is wrongly placed and makes the rule confusing.








Page 13, FREE PASSAGE/SANCTUARY.





The first sentence of the second-to-last paragraph should read:  "Free passage is granted only to heroes, not combat units."
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