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CP recharge: start of the command phase 7.173 (p.13)

CW mod: it’s missing. Should be +3, OR automatic if you use option 7.235.

George & the Guard. This rule is poorly worded. if you choose the normal arrival option (7.231 — p.13)

George comes alone. When the guards show however, he and they must get together as swiftly as possible.

The rule is intended to limit the employment of the guard away from George’s location, not to give them

BritRail passes. If the more realistic option is chosen (7.235 — p.13) then indeed he and the guard will travel

together, but you risk losing him and the guard at sea like anything else. Add an optional coda to the second

(optional) option: George is personally immune to shipwreck. (BTW you do realize you’re losing a bonus 1/3

Orders allowance by not stacking in London? (7.212 — p.13)). Charlie’s “guard” (7.243) works the same way

— again the rule only applies if the unit is in play.

General rule on CW movement: John you are correct, the penalty is applied in the command phase after

moving (see 7.22 p.13).

George’s orders & movement: first, it does not cost CPs to move a CW (7.22 p. 13); second, his orders are

halved when in Flanders, but once out of Flanders (including if in transit as per 7.235) his orders are only

halved for moving (7.22). No quartering of his allowance. To forstall a technicality, if his ship is delayed in

Flanders he is not in motion, so again he only suffers a single halving of his orders.

Column limits: there is no statement to this effect. I will add one to the errata. In every situation the

countermix is an absolute limit.

Leaders & Contingent Release (specifically Reay): all leaders are bound by the contingent rules. Also,

leaders in Flanders must travel by ship (George is the possible exception).

IMPORTANT. Point #7 has brought out the omitted issue of losing leaders at sea: for purposes of delay/loss,

leaders are treated as a single company (much like artillery equals 10 companies). This value is NOT added

to the size of the group when rolling on the tables, it is only used when assessing losses or deciding who is

delayed.

Argyll Militia = Loyal Scots: frozen as I said before — 17.12 (p.35).

Delays 21.2 (p. 46): again, this applies to orders, not CPs. The list is NEARLY comprehensive. Operational

movement & siege maintaining are the responsibility of the local commander and cost CPs, not orders.

Espionage can use CPs or Orders. With an order the target can be anywhere (20.311 p. 45) so the order can’t

be delayed. A leader may only be appointed with an order (or by an an initiative roll); the commander then

spends CPs to move his force in the operations phase. See 7.14 (p.12) and 7.17 (p.13). ADDITION: CWs

issuing orders to a BHQ or Column. This is intended in point #1 of 21.32 (p.46) appointing a commander. I’11

add a clarification.

JOHN, re your query 7a: conflicting orders are a well-known cause of nervous breakdowns among

subordinate officers and junior civil servants. For game purposes:

a) it is the responsibilty of the player to ensure he doesn’t issue conflicting orders, and
b) aclarification to the rules: if multiple orders are received by a particular commander/ location/stack

and they conflict, the player must attempt to execute the earliest issued order and discard the others;
if a commander has received the orders, he may make an initiative roll — if he succeeds, you can
chose which order to execute and the rest are then discarded. I’1l add this to the errata.

Sieges: the rules 11.213/11.214 (p.27) are correct — 1-1 MODIFIED odds for starting/maintaining a siege or

5-1 for trying to resolve one, plus 11.225 (p.27) — the initiative try if you don’t have 5-1 odds. The negative

modifier for Initiative tries is a statement left over from an earlier ruling. There is no modifier. As for the

charts, the Basic Siege Table has the correct modifiers, but ignore the results portion of the notes. The notes

on the Advanced Table are incomplete, but the Advanced Tables are correct in themselves. I will add the

notes to the errata file for reference.



