Here are the Q & A I collected on CSW (in disorder) :

1) Can the Russian cavalry replacements come back with different armies? An eliminated 4th cavalry unit is stacked with a cavalry unit of the 8th army for instance?

Yes. The army numbers of the units refer to their starting armies but you can freely shuffle units among the armies, and that includes replacements.

2) If a unit is in a fortification and is attacked, are two die rolls made for the defense? One for the unit and one for the fortification?


3) The only question we did not find a clear answer in the rules was about the cavalry replacements: what does it happen to a Cavalry Unit under a Repl marker, if it's attacked?

It may not move or attack but it defends normally.

4 ) Arrggh, three more typos that slipped past that GMT will undoubtedly issue corrected counters for in the future. There is no German XXIX Corps at Ypres-that should be the XIX Corps. And the Mar division should have no corps designation (though historically it was attached to the XXVII Reserve Corps, it could have been added to any corps).

5) Ted, two quick questions: During the same turn, can a unit move from one zone to another and then back to the original zone? For example, going from A to B and back to A? (I did that to try and surround a unit)

As part of the same move you mean? Yes.

6) Also, once a continuous front has been established and all cavalry are considered to be infantry, are the TER ratings of the German and French cavalry units considered to be 1 or 2 when they battle with infantry? And can cavalry now attack infantry units and extend their ZOCs for blocking the retreat of enemy infantry? I'm assuming they can.

Once they are converted to infantry (on the turn following the formation of the continuous front) yes, they treated exactly as infantry except for replacement purposes (use their printed TER etc.).

7) Suppose the AH push an infantry stack into Krassnik in Turn 5, in full supply, and it hangs on there till the end of the turn to earn a VP. Then on Turn 6, the Russians counterattack and drive the AH away from the neighboring hexes, leaving an AH stack in Krassnik totally surrounded by Russian ZOCs at the end of the turn. An AS marker is placed on the AH stack and it then hangs on all the way to the end of Turn 7 with the AS marker on it. Does the Austrian get another VP for Krassnik in Turn 7?
If you read Rule 4.1 in the Battle book for Galicia, it says "...the AH player gets 1 VP for each AH VP space he currently controls in full supply." Since Krassnik is no longer in full supply, this implies no VP is awarded.
On the other hand, if you read Rule 4.22, it says "a player scores the victory points for a specific hex if [...] 3) the opposing player controlled the hex at the start of the game and he was the last to enter that hex with a friendly, supplied infantry unit." Thinking about the example from this viewpoint, the AH player was the last to enter that hex with a friendly, supplied infantry unit (this happened on Turn 5) so he would be awarded a VP.
The way I read them, the two rules seem to lead to different conclusions and I'm not sure how to resolve the issue.

Rule 4.1 has precedence in this case-the AH would score no VPs for Krasnik even though they do control the hex.

8) In Ypres, the rules state that the 'D' ACM markers have the turn they enter marked on them, but mine at least do not. Can I assume that it's turn 2 for the Allies, and turn 4 for the Germans.

That is correct.

9) Counters: The unit marked as French 5th Cavalry Brigade should probably be a Division instead.


10) Question: Can the Russian Cav replacement marker be used to bring a unit back into a stack with three Russian Cav units in it? Or does 6.1 hold for replacement of dead units?

It does.

11) QUESTION: Must RR hexes be "friendly controlled"? Near Germany the RR is Russian -> so, must an Austrian unit move through the hexes to allow a supply link, or as the army flanks around, can they use the RR (1410, 1409, 1408, etc) for supply?

My original intent was to not bother with "friendly control" assuming that if you can trace a line free of enemy ZOCs you can assume friendly units moved through at some point. But there do seem to be enough control markers that if you want to take the trouble of keeping track, you can go with "friendly controlled."

12) I am assuming that if i have 1 unit adjacent to two stacks, then I can attack just one stack - and ignore the other one.


13) I am not sure the Austrians will get their 8 points. At the end of turn 4 they only controlled 1 RU VP spot!

I'm sure that is just a typo but for anyone reading this, the Austrians score VPs for holding the Austrian (blue) VP spaces.

14) For surrender on the East Front of OOS units--does one use their face value TER or the reduced by up to -2 OOS TER ?? I would assume its face value.