From S&T 96

The following rules modifications are intended to change, further
explain, or expand the NORDKAPP game rules.

Game Map: Printing may have caused several ambiguities on some copies of
the mapsheet. These problems are as follows:

1. The road that appears to cross the corner of hex 0937 actually goes
through the center of 0936 to 1036.

2. The two roads which join in hex 0616 actually join in hex 0617.

3. The road that appears to cross the corner of hex 0723 should be
dropped lower on the map so that it actually crosses hex 0623 and runs
to hex 0724.

4. The road in hex 0920 goes directly into hex 0820.

5. The road which appears to run on the hexside between hex 0933 and hex
1033 actually passes through hex 0933 only.

Unit Counters: Additional unit counter faces are printed in this article
so that players may photocopy them and affix them to cardboard. For the
additional Soviet counters, see 18.3 below.

1. Correction: Players should change the Combat Strength of the Soviet
3/111/111 Tank Battalion to read "3-12" rather than "7-12."

2. Due to a change in Canada's defense policy, players should eliminate
the following Canadian units from the game: 12 RBC/5, 2R22/5, 3 R22/5,
and 2 RCR/5. Substitute the counters printed with this article, since
these represent a composite brigade group based on the Canadian Special
Service Force. See 15.22 below.

Rules: [3.4] Correction: The typical Helicopter Unit diagram shows
"Helicopter Type" pointing to the silhouette instead of the type, which
should be "MI-6."

[4.0] 1.B. Addition: There is no air interdiction phase during the
Soviet player part of Game Turn 1.

[4.0] 1. E. 1. Clarification: Units "at sea" are first moved, then other
units on land may be moved to an "at sea" status.

[5.3] Clarification: Roads do not negate water barrier hexsides for unit
movement purposes (see Terrain Effects Chart Note 3).

[8.4] Correction: Line 13 should read " . . . retreat or removing units
from play or a combination of both ...." Line 14 should read "When a
combat is resolved."

[8.51] Clarification: If only one unit participates in an attack, then
all Loss Points of the defender may be fulfilled by retreat.

[8.62] Clarification: In line 4, the word total should be emphasized.

[9.14] Correction: Northwestern Border District units (those with a
final designation of "M") do not count as a separate division for supply
purposes. They may draw supply from any divisional supply line.

[10.3] Clarification: Air defense units do not affect air-to-ground
combat (this is abstracted in the air system). The units represent only
the ground combat ability of anti-aircraft guns and machine guns.

[11.3] Correction: Line 8 should read "... Air-to-Air Combat...."

[11.4] Correction: In the EXAMPLE section, line 12 should read "8.33"
instead of "8.32."

[13.41] Addition: A helicopter unit employing one-half or less of its
printed Movement Radius in a phase is not subject to interception. It is
assumed to be flying in a nap-of-the- earth mode.

[14.31] Correction: The last line should read ". . . part and may move
up to one-half of its movement allowance." (This brings the case into
line with the sequence of play, which is correct.)

[14.5] Addition: Equipment may only be landed by sea at a port.

[15.21] Correction: The first line should read "3rd Commando Brigade."
The fifth line should read "all four units."

[15.22] Correction: The first sentence should be deleted and replaced
with: "Canadian Air/Sea Transportable Brigade Group, consisting of units
designated 3

PPCLI (3rd Bn, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry); 2/R22 (2e
Bn, Royal 22e Rgt); and CAR(+) (Canadian Airborne Regiment,
reinforced)." The remainder of the case reads as per the original. The
CAR(+) unit exerts a Zone of Control like Commando units. Note that the
new units are represented by counter mockups provided with this article.
There is no sea transport attrition die roll associated with the arrival
of these units, as it is included in the general die roll for their

Clarification: Note that the Swedish units are initially placed on their
heavy sides, overstacked. They need not abide by stacking limits until
their first movement phase.

[17.8] Clarification: Game Turn 1 British reinforcements: note that the
41 RAD air unit always enters play. The 1 RAD and the 314 KLU air units
are assigned to the AMF and may or may not enter play.

[18.26] Addition: Optional Norwegian Arrival. The Norwegian 1/5, 2/5,
and 3/5 Oversnow units may be entered by air with prepositioned
equipment on Game Turn 2, exactly as the 13th Brigade (see 15.25,
paragraph 2). Give the Soviet player 1 Victory Point.

[18.3] Addition: Optional Soviet Units. (See unit counter faces printed
below.) If Sweden is "invaded" (i.e., resists and joins the Western
powers), the Soviet player may enter the 77th Guards "Red Banner"
Motorized Rifle Division (14 units with designations ending in "77") by
rail at hex 3910 or 3907 on Game Turn 6. The Soviet Player loses 6
Victory Points if he enters this division.

[18.4] Addition: Optional Scenario  NATO Advanced Warning. Although
history since World War II has demonstrated NATO's unwillingness to
respond quickly to a possible crisis, this option assumes a rapid NATO
political/military response to 48 hours' intelligence warning of a
Soviet invasion. The NATO player becomes the first player in each Game
Turn instead of the Soviet player. The only restriction is that the NATO
player may not move units out of Norway or attack on Game Turn 1. This
scenario may affect play balance, however, as it gives the Norwegians a
chance to mobilize units and defend major air/sea objectives such as
Tromso. This should not be used if the NATO player is more skilled than
the Soviet player.

Q: Are there any terrain restrictions on helicopter movement?

S&T: Normally, helicopters pay 1 Movement Point for each hex they enter.
However, helicopters cannot enter a hex containing an Enemy ground unit
and cannot unload Friendly units in a hex containing an Enemy ground
unit. A helicopter unit can move through all-sea hexes but cannot end
its move in an all-sea hex.

Q: Can an artillery unit add its combat strength to that of another
artillery unit or to a unit with a combat strength in brackets ?

S&T: Yes. However, in an attack situation, the unit to which the Combat
Strength is added, must be adjacent to the defending unit. Also, a
non-artillery ground unit must always participate in any attack
involving an artillery unit. A ground unit with a Combat Strength in
parentheses cannot be used to satisfy the non-artillery unit attack
requirement. An artillery unit can add its Combat Strength to a unit
with a Combat Strength in parentheses only when the unit with Combat
Strength in parentheses is a defending unit.

Q: Can a unit retreat into an air-interdicted hex?

S&T: Yes. Air interdiction affects supply only, not the retreat of units.

Q: What is the "appropriate Movement Point cost" (5.62) for a
non-reinforcing unit using Rail Movement?

S&T: Rail Movement applies only to reinforcing units. Non-reinforcing
units always ignore the presence of rail lines in the hexes they move
through and pay the costs of the other terrain in the hex.

[Optional units]