Colonial Diplomacy Errata

Colonial Diplomacy

Errata and Clarifications

March 6, 1996

Map Addition: Kyoto is starting Colony for Japan. There should be a white circled dot in Kyoto.

Map Change: Constantinople is a province of Turkey. It should be printed in the same white color as the rest of Turkey.

The correct abbreviation for the Andaman Sea is "AND.S" as per Rule 13.0; the abbreviation found on the conference map is incorrect.

Rule Change:

9.11: Delete "China may not enter Hong Kong until the turn after another power has occupied it at the end of a counting move (even-numbered turns)."

9.34: Delete "A EGY S SUD"

9.35: Change "Turkey A EGY S British F RS-MED" to "Turkey F EGY S British F RS-MED"



9.21 Only the Russian player may use the TSR. The Russian player may not allow another power to use it.

9.23 This rule restricts the attack capability of units using the TSR. A unit using the TSR may attack:

(1) a province that is unoccupied at the start of the turn. Normal rules of conflict would apply,

(2) a province that is occupied at the start of the turn but was made empty during the current turn as a result of that unit moving out. Normal rules of conflict would apply, or

(3) a province that is occupied at the start of the turn, but if the unit remains in place then the attack will be unsuccessful (even with support) and the unit will have to stop in the nearest empty province along the line of the railroad before the enemy-occupied province (e.g. An army in Moscow with orders A MOS-TSR-VLA with an enemy unit holding in Vladivostok results in the Moscow army stopping in Irkutsk --the order is legal, in the hope that the province will be vacated, but unsuccessful).

Note: So long as an enemy unit remains in place it may not be successfully attacked that turn by a unit using the TSR. This still applies even if that enemy unit is attacked by a third power that turn and forced to retreat, for example:

The Russian unit stops in Irkutsk. The Chinese unit retreats (not to Irkutsk or Seoul). The Japanese unit from Seoul takes Vladivostok.

9.241 The presence of a foreign power in a province along the line of the TSR blocks its use beyond that point. However, if the unit later moves off this province thus unblocking the line, the TSR may again function normally, that is, control of the province reverts to Russia (it is assumed the partisans rebuild the line).

EXCEPTION: If a supply center on the line of the TSR (Moscow, Omsk, Vladivostok) is captured by an enemy power and later vacated, ownership remains with that power and the TSR is out at that point until Russia is able to recapture the province. Only then is the line "open" again. For example, if China owns Omsk but has vacated it, a Russian unit using the TSR from Vladivostok could move to Omsk, but no further that turn.

9.25 A curious example of this rule applies if an enemy unit attacks from one province to another along the line of the TSR at the same time that a Russian unit is railed through these provinces in the same direction such as:

This results in a standoff in Omsk. The Chinese unit stays in Krasnoyarsk and the Russian unit stays in Irkutsk. The logic being that Krasnoyarsk is left empty by the Chinese at the time the Russian unit moves through. Thus both units attack Omsk and cause a standoff.

NOTE: The above result would also have occurred if the Russian unit had been ordered to Perm or Moscow because the same standoff would still occur in Omsk.


The island of Sakhalin is contained entirely within the Okhotsk Sea and a unit there cannot be eliminated, so it is suggested that a - land bridge - arrow should connect Otaru and Sakhalin thus allowing a supported attack from Otaru and Okhotsk Sea to take Sakhalin.


Cebu is one space containing both land and sea. It can be occupied by either an army or a fleet. An army can use the - land bridges - to move from Manila to Cebu and Cebu to Davao (and vice versa). The game spaces adjacent to Cebu are: Manila, Middle Pacific, Lower Pacific, Davao, Sulu Sea and Luzon Strait.

Trans-Siberian Railroad

Q. In the following situation, where do A Mos and A Omsk end up? Russian orders: A Mos-TSR-Vla, A Omsk-Kra, A Vla-Seo; Chinese orders: A Mac-Irk.

A. The standoff in Kra means that A Omsk does not move and A Mos stops in Perm.

Q. If Russia orders A Mos-TRS-Vla and China orders A Mac-Irk and A Mon-Kra, what happens?

A. A Mon-Kra fails, A Mac-Irk succeeds, A Mos stops in Omsk.