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"La Grande Armee" (SPI, 1972) suggested  
Rules Addenda and Clarification (v3.3)
by William Thomas Sherman
wts@gunjones.com
--------------------------

* Leaders may attach themselves to units that march or force march without having to move and or roll for force march separately 
from that unit; however they must remain with the unit throughout the move. If the unit in force marching disrupts or is eliminated, the 
leader disrupts or is eliminated also. 

* Units may combine breakdown as much and so long as they have movement points to do so. For example, x6 2-5s may combine in 
one turn into an 18-2. When force marching use the slowest adjusted (for force march) movement rate of the original combining units; 
but not more than the maximum allowable movement points of the final formation type (i.e., division, corps, or army) unit's limit. So, 
for instance (and leaving aside the presence of enemy zone of controls and additional terrain), if x6 2-5s within two hexes of each 
other ALL force march and combine to form an 18-2, the cost would, say, be +3 to enter hex and stack (for most of the units); +1 to 
combine in 5-4s; +1 then to combine into 18-2; so that as an 18-2 they then could move 2 additional movement points -- for a grand 
total of 7 movement points out of the starting 10 force march movement points. If they hadn't forced marched, or one unit hadn't 
forced march, they could just combine into a 18-2 but move no further. If x3 5-4s within one hex of each other march normally to 
combine, the result would be +2 to enter the combining hex; + 1 to combine into an 18-2, and then 1 movement point to move one 
clear hex. In sum, go by the maximum of the slowest combining unit and move it up to its maximum movement allowance, and if after 
combining and it has movement points left over, it may use those movement points up to the maximum movement allowance of the 
formation that it combines into. 

Likewise but conversely, a unit breaking down from an 18-2 into x6 2-5s would spend 1 movement point to breakdown, and then have 
4 movement points remaining for each of its units. If the 18-2 had double forced march, it would spend 1 to breakdown into 2-5s and 
have 9 movement points remaining. If broken down into 5-4s it would have 7 movement points remaining for each 5-4 -- bearing in 
mind all this while that an additional movement point is spent just to leave the hex where the breakdown occurs. 

* Mountain passes cost +1 additional movement point when moving from one mountain pass to another.

* To simplify procedures, Units undisrupt at next friendly movement phase AFTER one movement phase where they did not move at 
all (or produce a supply unit, in case of disrupted depots.)

* Cavalry is always 1 Strength Point even if unsupplied. However, when a force greater than 2 or more of infantry or cavalry risks or 
engages in combat it must be supplied or otherwise be halved (fractions rounded down.) This, among other things means that when, 
say, a 3-7 cavalry unsupplied against a 1-6 cavalry combats the latter, the odds would be 1 to 1. Had the 3-7 cavalry had a leader with 
it, its strength would be 2 (or 2 to 1.)

* Cavalry may retreat before combat -- including automatic elimination -- if assailing enemy does not have any cavalry. However, if 
they retreat they must move full distance of their movement and end disrupted. If attacking enemy has cavalry, defending cavalry may 
not retreat before combat. There is no extra friendly movement penalty if enemy cavalry retreats in the face of automatic elimination 
(and which retreat before automatic elimination is only possible to begin with, recall, if overwhelming force has no cavalry.)

* Units may retreat through or end in hex with friendly units with no adverse affect (though not if those hexes contained enemy 
ZOCs.)

* Units may not retreat before combat if attacker has cavalry and defender doesn't. Units may not retreat through enemy ZOCs unless 
retreating unit is cavalry and ZOCs retreated through are infantry ZOCs only..

* Retreating unit pay normal movement costs, and must pay full movement allowance. Units retreat toward "their" side of the map: 
here France -- west (left); Prussia -- north (top); Russia - east (right); OR toward a friendly supply depot – retreating side’s choice.
Leaders retreating alone however may halt retreat in a hex with any undisrupted friendly unit in the path of their retreat. 

* Enemy ZOCS DO extend into friendly occupied hexes for purposes of retreat; and or, to put it somewhat differently, friendly units 
in enemy ZOC hex do NOT negate enemy ZOCs for purposes of regular movement or retreat. 

* If a reinforcement hex is occupied by enemy units, all friendly reinforcements scheduled for that hex are lost.

* 1 supply may supply all friendly units that are adjacent to it for purposes of force march; or else stacking/combat. In order for a 
supply to be used for force march it must begin movement turn in or adjacent to force marching unit(s). Forts may only those friendly 
units that occupy them. As an optional rule, and with the mutual agreement of players, this might be expanded to saying a fort may 
supply any friendly unit within 1 hex of it.

* Units in a fort hex may declare whether they are or are not inside or outside fort until enemy becomes adjacent; at which time they 
must declare which. Use spare "cover" marker to indicate which units are or are not in fort: some may go into fort while others may 
stay outside -- thus the latter retain their ability to exert zones of control (unlike units which stay inside fort which lose their zone of 
control ability.) Friendly units in fort hex but not actually inside fortress do not receive supply benefit of fort.

* [OPTIONAL] Archduke Charles in 1809 should rate at least 10/10 -- modestly increasing his rating and in a way easy to remember.
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