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Fleets that change base, perform sea transport, or perform amphibious invasion may be intercepted by any

of the defender's fleets based on the same front subject to cooperation rules (12.0-12.2).  Fleets that change

base because of an overrun naval base (6.0), move during the Strategic Warfare Phase (9.6), perform

shipping (6.7), or strategically redeploy (11.0) cannot be intercepted.

Naval Interception of sea transport or amphibious invasion missions can only occur after all of the ground

units involved in that mission have embarked.  When naval interception is announced, the attacker must

indicate the exact course of zones his fleet moved though.  Naval interception can only occur in one zone of

the attacking fleet's course of movement.  The defender then chooses a zone along that course of movement

where naval interception will be attempted.  Naval interception is not automatic and only occurs after a

successful naval interception die roll.  Separate interception rolls are required for each port where fleets are

attempting interception.  The defender counts the number of sea zones from the sea zone adjacent to the

fleet's port of origin (counted as 1) to the sea zone where the defender is attempting interception.  Fleets

based in the U.S. box that attempt interception must use the maximum number of zones in the Naval

Interception Table.

The defender rolls one die for each port where fleets are attempting interception and consults the Naval

Interception Table.  Interception occurs if the number rolled is listed next to the appropriate number of

zones.  Interception results in naval combat (6.4).

Fleets that fail a naval interception die roll must return to their ports of origin and are not considered to

have performed a mission.

The intercepting fleet may elect to withdraw before combat is resolved.  Naval combat still occurs,

however, the withdrawing fleet automatically loses the battle and loses half the number of factors it would

have normally lost after modifying the combat die rolls.  The withdrawing fleet cannot lose more than half

of its factor strength.  If the withdrawing fleet has the higher modified die roll then neither side loses any

fleet factors.

Zones Roll
1-2 Automatic
3-4 2,3,4,5,6
5-6 3,4,5,6
7-8 4,5,6

9-10 5,6
11+ 6
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