DILLINGER: ERRATA AND CLARIFICATIONS
Alan R. Arvold
The following errata and clarifications for the game Dillinger
are based on questions and answers that have been posted in the
BSO Games section on Consimworld and on the FAQ posted in the
Dillinger section on Grognard. While many of the items listed
here come from answers from the game's designer, others are not
and so this errata and these clarifications must be considered to
2.1 The Playing Cards
Card Maximum (Add): The following cards count against the eight
card maximum: Mouthpiece (Lawyer) Cards on Retainer, Retained
Special Agent Cards after the Federal Crime Bill becomes
effective, Retained State Police Cards, and any Accessory Cards
assigned to SA and State Police Cards. Accessory Cards assigned
to played PE cards do not count against the eight card maximum.
Public Enemy Maximum (Add): This maximum includes PEs both in
Hand and in Play.
2.2 The Location Cards
(Clarification): More than one PE Card may occupy the same box on
the Location Card (also known as a Play Mat) during a player
2.4 Useful Terminology
Catch Range (Clarification): One will find that through out the
Rules and the Accessory Cards the terms Catch Range, Catch
Rating, and Catch DR are used interchangeably. For the most part
these terms apply to the Catch DR, especially when positive and
negative DRMs are involved.
4.0 Course of Play
4.2 The Sequence of Play
B. The Crime Wave Phase (Clarification): It costs an Action to
place or move a PE Card to a box on the Location Card. It does
not cost an Action to leave a PE Card in a box on the Location
Card if it starts the player turn there and does nothing. In some
boxes though it does cost an Action to perform certain fuctions.
Also in the Robbing the Bank and Collecting Ransom Boxes the PE
Card must be moved out when the Robbery and Ransom Collection
process is successfully completed.
4.3 Card Draw
Discarding (Clarification): There are only two situations when
you can discard:
A. When you have the maximum hand of eight cards during the Draw
Phase of a Player Turn.
B. When discarding a PE Card which can be done at any time.
Note: PE Cards that are in Play (on the player's Location Card)
may not be discarded.
4.4 Length of Game
End of the Game (Clarification): At the end of the game when all
players each take one more turn after the last Accessory Card is
drawn from the deck, the Card Draw Phase may be skipped by a
player during his turn if either all the decks are empty or the
player can not legally draw any of the remaining PE or Mouthpiece
Quicker Games (Change): In the Short Game there are 47 Accessory
Cards used, not 45.
Asterisked Accessory Cards (Clarification): There is some
confusion over which Accessory Cards are marked with two
asterisks (**) and which ones are marked with one asterisk (*).
Those that are marked with two asterisks have the two asterisks
printed to the right of the card name on the Accessory Card.
These cards are removed from the Short Game but are left in the
deck in the Medium Game. Those that are marked with one asterisk
actually have one asterisk printed on the left side and two
asterisks printed on the right side of the card name on the
Accessory Card. These cards are removed from both the Short and
5.0 Cops and Robbers
5.1 The Public Enemies
Kill Range (Add): This DR range is also used to stop a Hitman
from killing them.
Luck Range (Add): Additionally, the DR within the Luck Rating
range cancels a successful contract hit upon the PE by a Hitman.
5.4 The Special Agents of the B.I.
The Federal Crime Bill
One "Round" (Clarification): A "round" is defined as up to once
around the table, in this case starting with the player in whose
player turn the Special Agent was killed and going around the
table until it is the beginning of the player turn of the player
that killed the SA. At that time the Federal Crime Bill takes
Post Crime Bill Usage (Clarification): Retained Special Agent
Accessory Cards and any Tommy Gun Accessory Cards attached to
them do count towards the eight card maximum hand. These cards
can be played and then after the play is done the owning player
may pick them back up and place them back in his/her hand,
assuming that the SA is still alive.
5.5 State Police
(Add): Retained State Police Cards and any Tommy Gun Accessory
Cards attached to them do count against the eight card maximum.
These cards can be played and then after the play is done the
owning player may pick them back up and place them in his/her
5.6 Mouthpieces (Lawyers)
Single Use (Add): Even the player with the maximum number of
cards in his/her hand may use a Lawyer Card in this way.
Retainers (Clarification): A Lawyer Card on Retainer can be
played and then after the play is done the owning player can pick
it back up and place it back in his hand. The Accessory Card is
correct though. Retained Attorneys do count against the eight
card maximum hand.
6.1 Robbing Banks
Casing a Bank (Clarification): A player may keep a PE Card in the
Casing the Bank Box for as many of his player turns as he
desires. Doing so does not use up his Public Enemy Action in the
Crime Wave Phase in each of his player turns that he does this.
In addition, when the player moves his PE Card to the Robbing the
Bank Box, he only receives a +1 to his PE's Bank Rob DR no matter
how many previous consecutive player turns the PE Card was on the
Casing the Bank Box.
(Note: While keeping the PE Card on the Casing the Bank Box for
several player turns does provide a safe haven from Police Raids
for a while, it does not protect a PE Card from Hit Attempts.)
6.2 On the Lam
(Clarification): A player may keep a PE Card in the On the Lam
Box for as many of his player turns as desired. Doing so does not
use up his Public Enemy Action in the Crime Wave Phase in each of
his player turns that he does this.
The Snatch (Clarification): A player may keep a PE Card (with the
Kidnap Victim Accessory Card) in the Kidnap Box for as many of
his player turns as desired. Doing so does not use up his Public
Enemy Action in the Crime Wave Phase in each of his player turns
that he does this.
6.4 Contract Hits
Attempting the Hit (Add): The Hitman PE Card may be played on the
target PE Card directly from the Player's hand. The Hitman PE
Card may also be moved from the Casing the Bank, On the Lam, or
Kidnap Boxes on the player's Location Card to the target PE Card.
(Clarification): The Hitman may use a Tommy Gun Accessory Card to
modify the Hit Attempt DR result by +1.
Resolving the Hit (Add): After the Hit attempt has been resolved,
the Hitman PE Card is moved to the On the Lam Box on the owning
player's Location Card, providing he survives the "return fire".
Money is then paid out for the Contract Hit.
Contract Fee (Clarification): The $5,000 for the Hit attempt is
paid to the player regardless of the success or failure of the
Hit. This is true even if the Hitman is killed in the return
fire. (Think of it as the down payment for the Hit Contract.) The
money paid for the successful completion of a Hit is in addition
to the $5,000 paid for the Hit attempt.
7.0 Gangbusters: Police Actions and Raids
General (Clarification): When a player takes a Law Enforcement
Action against a PE of an opposing player, regardless of whether
it is against a PE committing a Bank Robbery or a Raid against a
PE in either the On the Lam or Collecting Ransom boxes, the Law
Enforcement player plays all of the Accessory Cards he wishes to
use first, then the target PE player plays all of the Accessory
Cards he wishes to use second, then the DR is made to determine
the result. Accessory Cards may not be played by either player
after the DR to change the result. Note that some Accessory Cards
when played will prevent the other player from playing all or
most of his cards or may cancel the action all together.
Public Enemy Reaction to Being Captured or Killed: When using his
Kill Rating, the PE earns 2 NPs for killing the Local Police and
3 NPs when killing the State Police or Special Agent Cards. The
Notoriety Point Chart is correct.
8.0 Jail and Trial
General (Clarification): If an acquitted PE goes to a player who
already has 2 PEs in his hand or in play, that player will have
to discard one of the PEs. The player may choose which one he
wants to discard, but he can not discard a PE that is in play (in
a box on the Location Card). If he chooses to discard the
acquitted PE, or has to because both of his original PEs are
already in play, then the acquitted PE is placed back into the PE
deck. The accumulated NPs on an acquitted PE Card stay with that
card regardless whether it is shuffled back into the PE deck or
kept by the player who conducted the trial.
11.2 Notoriety Points (NP)
(Clarification): When a PE is killed, the player who killed him
earns 1/2 of the dead PE's Notoriety Points, any fractions
rounded up. One NP (-1) is then subtracted from the dead PE's NP
total and the remaining NPs are given to the owning player. When
a PE is Convicted in Trial or sent directly to Prison upon
capture (in other words is out of the game), then the owning
player is given all of the PE's Notoriety Points with no
11.3 Public Enemy #1
(Clarification): A PE must be Killed, not Convicted in Trial or
sent to directly to Prison upon capture (and out of the game) due
to being a Kidnapper or because he was captured by a Special
Agent, in order to trigger Public Enemy #1 determination. There
is no Public Enemy #1 at the beginning of the game and the first
one is not determined until the first PE is killed. A PE may earn
the Public Enemy #1 designation more than once in a game and
earns 1 NP each time he that he does, even in consecutive
determinations. An "active" PE is defined as a played PE who is
on one of the boxes on the Location Card. (Yes, even a PE in the
Jail Box can earn the Public Enemy #1 designation.) A PE that
loses its Public Enemy #1 designation does not lose any NPs
because of it. If a PE who is Public Enemy #1 is Convicted in
Trial or directly sent to Prison upon capture, then there is no
Public Enemy #1 in the game until the next determination is
triggered. The same applies if two or more PEs tie with the
largest NP totals during a Public Enemy #1 determination.
(Clarification): When determining Victory Points, one Notoriety
Point (NP) equals one Victory Point.
The Accessory Cards Reference List
Hostages (Change): The third sentence should read as follows: If
the Local Police, in attempting to Catch the PE, rolls an
unadjusted odd number when resolving the Catch attempt, the
Police player, not the PE player nor his PE, loses 2 Notoriety
Points (he's killed a civilian in the process).
(The original wording would lead one to believe that it was the
PE player who lost the Notoriety Points, contradicting the
previous rules on this subject.)
Spending Spree (Change): The term 2d6 should be 2d12.
The PE Card for Harvey "Old Harve" Bailey should have the word
"Hitman" at the bottom of the card, not "Public Enemy".
On the following types of Accessory Cards; Stool Pigeon, Gun
Moll, Police Stupidity, Local Corruption, and Getaway Car, the
term "Catch Rating" should be "Catch DR".
On the Herman "Baron" Lamm Accessory Card, the top line should
read "+1 to all Bank Robbery Attempt DRs.
On the Kidnap Victim Accessory Card for Charles Urschel, his
title should be Bank President, not Band President.
(Note: Charles Urschel was actually an Oklahoma oilman who owned
On the Player Turn Chart, the Local Police Catch Table, and the
Notoriety Point Chart the term 2d6 should be 2d12.
On the Notoriety Point Chart, in the Law Enforcement Action
section, the amount of NPs earned or lost for Hoover being
present with a Special Agent at an Unsuccessful Catch should be
-3, not -1. The amount of NPs lost for an Unsuccessful Catch on
the Hoover Accessory Card and in the game rules are correct
On the Contract Hit Chart the first bullet should read as
DR within Hit Range, Target killed. Target may roll for Kill
(result will cancel Target's death if Hitman is killed) or roll
for Luck (result will cancel Target's death but Hitman