CAMPAIGN FOR NORTH AFRICA 

ADDENDA:As of September 1979 

A BRIEF NOTE 

To believe that a game of the breadth and extent of CNA would not have
any mistakes was to have the faith of the fanatically insane. We would
like to make a pitch here for initiative: if you find something that is
obviously wrong, instead of putting the game aside and waiting three
months for the answer to your question, please try to resolve it
yourself. After all, these games were not delivered on mountain tops
writ on fiery tablets...the designer simply made up everything you have
read (except the hardware.) And if he can do it, so can you. Try it. And
now to the business at hand. 

MAPS 

Map "D": Hexside 2228/2328 should have an escarpment. 

RULES: 

[3.0] (clarification) Please note that the definition of Pinned is wrong
when it refers to air bombardment, especially when it refers to placing
units in reserve status. See Section 41.9 for the definition of Pinned
vis a vis air bombardment. 

[3.36] (clarification) Remember, this refers to HQ that have absolutely
no combat values. HQ with combat values in parentheses may defend, as
per 15.17. 

[3.4] (clarification of definition of Units with Parenthesized
Strengths) Parenthesized strengths are used only if the unit is attacked
while alone in a hex, or with other units having only parenthesized
strengths. 

[4.3] (note) There are no loose sheets of paper for charts. 

[4.4b] (addition) The Range for the Z506 is 110. 

[4.43a)] (important omission) The following items were left out of the
schedule: 

GT	OpS	Units 
28	2	42d RTR (1 Army); T: 4M 
64	2	WD: 32nd Army Tank Bde(2); Tpt: 20/15 

In addition, in 76/2 there is a reference to 2/68; ignore it. Refer
instead to the newly added 64/2 WD. 

[4.44a] (important omission) 

The Fuel Consumption rating of the Gladiator is "1". 

[4.44b] (important ommissions and corrections) All of the following
apply to the OA Charts, Reinforcement Tables, etc. - i.e., OB
information that has somehow been misprinted or left out. 

1. The OA sheets for three entire Italian Divisions - Sirte, Cirene and
Marmarica - have been left out. See below. If your are not planning on
playing any scenario before February 1941 you can ignore these
divisions, as they were gone by then. 

2. The 1st Buffs and 1st Hampshires (CW) start the campaign and Italian
scenarios as part of (assigned to) The Matruh Garrison. 

3. The arrival date for the French Motor Marine Company is wrong: it
should be "D". 

4. On the CW Air Characteristics Chart, the Legend shows that "F" =
Reconnaissance. That should obviously be "R" = Reconaissance. 

5. The Italian Air Characteristics chart lists an Re.2000. If I'm not
mistaken, that plane appears in no scenario or reinforcement track. That
is probably correct, as the Re2000 saw little if any action in Africa,
and we accidently left its characteristics in the table. 

6. Under German Non-Divisional Artillery, the 362 Artillery Battery
should have an ID Code of "x" (not "w", which is anti-tank equipment). 

[4.44c] (correction) The Bf.109E should not have "D" capability. In
addition, the Bf.110 as a fighter has a Maneuver rating of 32 only when
on Night missions. Otherwise its rating is 30. 

[4.46] (note) This is another one of these long cases written with a
30-pound pen. Don't worry, it all comes clear later. 

[4.47] (Axis Booklet) The Armor Protection Rating for the A9 Cruiser is
omitted on the Axis version of the chart. It is correct on the
Commonwealth version ("1"). Note: The BAR for all standard-type units is
given in Case 21.14 in the rulesbook. 

[4.49] (important ommission) The CPA for the 7.62cm Pak(R) is "15";for
the Marder, "25". (important correction) The correct values for the
German PzIIIE are 25 1 - 4 - 3 4/4 3 0 (reading across). 

[8.17] (correction) The % in line three should be %150, not %50. 

[8.23] (correction) The reference should be to 8.23, not 8.22. 

[8.37] (correction, Terrain Effects Chart) The footnote (4) should be
with Major City, not Swamp. (important correction) Footnote (8) is
correct, not the number "1" listed on the chart. Tracks do not cost 1
CP; they simply halve the cost of the terrain they're in. 

[8.71] (clarification) The rail lines may be used by the Axis Player
under Section 54.4. The latter rules was added just as the game went to
press; thus the seeming paradox.) 

[8.73] (additional rule) Units travelling by railroad may not earn any
re-organization points in the Stage that they do so. 

[8.86] (important correction) This is a mistake, and is directly
opposite to what it should say. Such reinforcements, etc., may move in
the Stage of their arrival. 

[8.97] (clarification) It seems a line was dropped here. What it means
to say is that in the rule embodied in the second sentence, a number of
trucks may be detached to go along with those detached units. 

[8.99] (note) This section is as clear as a marble block. However, the
information imparted is mostly suggestion. We're pretty sure you know
how to use markers. 

[9.16] (correction) The third paragraph should be "c," not "a". 

[10.3] (clarification) This Case does not apply to the non-Phasing
player. 

[11.32] (correction) The "+" in the third line should be a "x". 

[12.44] (important clarification) The term "entire target unit" refers
to the battalion-level equivalent fired at. Thus, if a British Artillery
unit fires at an infantry battalion in a German division, and the result
is a Pinned, only that battalion is pinned - not the division. Artillery
fire is never against the hex; it is always against specific targets
(usually battalion-equivalents.) 

[14.47] (important correction) This case is wrong; some over-zealous
developer decided to start changing rules. SP guns use their Armor
Protetion Ratings the same as any other armored unit. However, if such
SP Gun is barraging "Back," it may not be used to absorb, nor is it
affected by, Anti-Armor Fire. 

[14.48] (important addition) A maximum of two TOE points of
"halftrack-motorized" units may be so lost in any given segment of
Anti-Armor Fire, regardless of the situation. 

[15.25, Example] (correction) In the third line it should be obvious
that the other 4 Points are withheld. 

[15.26] (correction) The Case reference in the 4th line should be to
Cases 11.32 and 11.35. 

[15.27] (correction) While the last sentence is essentially, correct, it
is not complete, as the same diceroll is also added (6+2=8) to determine
retreats, surrenders, etc. 

[15.4] (correction) In the fourth from last Iine note that the "...Close
Assault Strength would be reduced to one." 

[15.53] (correction) The words "Brigade," now under the Adjustment
column, should be under the Smaller Side column. 

[15.55] (clarification) Well, not really a clarification. I assume you
don't understand what this means, as I, the designer, do not. If you do
understand it, fine. If not, just continue on. 

[15.56] (addition) If all defending units in a hex are pinned and that
hex is assaulted, the units defend with a strength of "0". In addition,
there is a two column shift to the right (to account for the effects of
15.51). 

[15.79] (correction) Under defender Losses, +4 differential, 10% line,
the dice-roll should read 34-45. 

[15.88] (clarification) It is important that this Case be understood vis
a vis Case 6.26. If a unit with a -17 cohesion level is assaulted, it
surrenders automatically. If the same unit had an Enemy unit move
adjacent to it, it would not surrender; however, a -26 unit would, in
the latter instance. (Very subtle, these designers...) 

[16.11] (addition) Add to your list of units which may be used for
patrol: Italian L/6's, Commonwealth Stuarts, and anyone's mechanized
infantry (or Panzergrenadiers). 

[17.28] (clarification) This means that it is possible for a unit to
have a final Morale of +4. 

[17.3] (clarification) Yes, I know that the Axis has Training Centers.
However, they are used only to train Replacement Points (Cf. Case
20.43), not actual units. 

[19.14, Example] (clarification) The last line should read "...attached
to one unit (NZ) and assigned to another (7th Armrd)." 

[19.5] (important clarification) Lord knows why but the whole idea
behind all this confusion was never expressed in simple words: Parent
Units may exceed their normal, assigned unit levels (19.3) by attaching
(not assigning) smaller units above and beyond those stated levels. The
number and types of units that may be so attached are given in this
chart. These attached units are carried in addition to those normally
assigned (even though some of those normally-assigned units may be
somewhere else at that time!). Just follow the chart and keep track of
all these additional attachments on your TOE Log Sheets. 

[20.3] (correction) The last item on this chart is the SGSU. Ignore that
reference; SGSU's come in as desired, as per 34.82. They do not require
any Replacement Points.

[20.62] (correction) Note, in the example at the end of the Case, that
the Axis Player would need 300 (not 350) tons. 

[20.66, Italian Production Chart] (correction) The next to the last line
of the explanations at the bottom should refer to Italian M 11/39's, not
13/39's. 

[20.72] (important correction) The first line should state that the CW
must plan one month in advance (not two). This will conform this Case
with other rules and tables. Moreover, the Production Tables are used
for the Month/Turn in which the CW Player plants his arrivals. (The Case
now states the opposite, which is wrong.) This, too, will conform the
Case to the tables. 

[20.83] (correction) Ignore the reference to 20.75. 

[21.12] (correction) In the next to last line note that Italian M
13/40's have a BAR of IR, as listed on the charts. 

[22.34] (correction) Ignore the reference to 22.35. 

[22.8] (correction) The last two sentences, concerning additions to the
dierolls, on the Table explanation are wrong. See Case 22.34 for the
correct dieroll modifications. 

[23.11] (correction and clarification) Engineers may use parenthesized
strengths only if they are not stacked with a Friendly combat unit.
Also, Engineers may always enter Friendly-occupied, Enemy-controlled
hexes. 

[24.15] (clarification) Case 24.12 is an exception to the last sentence.

[24.72] (addition) Commonwealth SGSU's and HQ's with Engineer capability
may also construct Airfields and basins. 

[25.15] (correction) Reference should be to 22.34. 

[27.16] (clarification) LRDG's, when returning, are formed as per Case
27.13. Also the dating system used in the example is one that was
originally used in testing, but was abandoned. For July II substitute
55th, for August II substitute 59th. 

[27.36] (clarification) Desert Raiders may use Reaction after any
Spotting attempt. 

[27.88] (correction) Reference should be to 27.32. 

[28.17] (correction) The number "1" in line four should be "5". 

[29.1] (clarification) Again, the old dating method. Just consider the
Roman numerals to represent the week in that month. Thus Spring runs
from the 3rd week of March and ends with the 2nd week of June. 

[29.61] (correction) This chart, as some of you may have suspected, is
completely backwards. The correct seasonal sequence is noted in 29.1
(i.e. Spring is from the 4th week of March to the end of the 3rd week of
June, and so forth). 

[30.5] (correction) The reference in the first paragraph should be to
56.0. Note Bene: This Case is a bit screwed up, so read the following
corrections carefully. 

[30.55] (clarification) While the restriction about expending capability
points is true, there is an exception: A unit that has undergone
barrage/bombardment may still be transferred. 

[30.57] (important correction) The reference to 30.59 should be ignored.
The rule is as follows: For every Stacking Point transported in, reduce
the Maximum Tonnage for that stage by 10%. (SP's shipped out have no
effect.) Thus, if 1 SP were shipped into Tobruk, its maximum tonnage of
supplies for that turn would be reduced by 10% to 1530 (1700-170). For
ports with Air incoming capacity of more than one SP, if they bring in
at least 50% of their supply tonnage maximum, reduce the SP level by at
least 1/3. For ports with 1 SP maximum shipping in supplies has no
effect. 

[30.58] (correction) The reference in line two should be to 55.2. 

[30.59] (clarification) There is no 30.59 chart. That chart is now Case
55.3. 

[32.0] (very important note) Please be warned. The abstract rules - all
of them, everywhere in the game - have never been tested. They should
work, but they may not. It was never intended to simplify the game, and
thus these were put in as an afterthought, to help those who might
simply want a military playout. Moreover, having read the abstracted
rules, I find them twice as confusing as the "difficult" ones. So much
for simplification... 

[34.72] (clarification) This is literally correct, but, for Players'
benefit, not exactly true. The SGSU does represent where the grounded
planes are; they do not literally represent the planes themselves. 

[35.23] (correction and clarification) The section in the rulesbook is
wrong; the chart book is right. British initial squadron capacity is
12/4, not 15/5. 

[37.31] (correction) Planes in facilities located in major cities may
always fly any mission even if there is an Enemy unit adjacent.
Facilities in major cities are immune to Enemy combat units moving
adjacent. 

[39.11] (correction) See addenda for 37.31. 

[40.15] (correction) The last number is wrong. It should be "12", as
Bf109F's have a TacAir of "6". 

[40.27] (clarification) Note that it is possible for a mission of planes
to be intercepted, have air-to-air, fly on, be attacked again with
air-to-air, fly on, etc. The only requirements is that each hex be
different. 

[40.93] (correction) That 20C should be "ZOC". 

[40.94] (clarification) There is no effect on other Day missions. 

[41.31] (clarification) The sentence at the end does not, of course,
apply to fortification counters. Units in fortifications with a "2"
level, other than major cities, may be bombed (with proper column
adjustments, 1L). 

[41.35] (clarification) Round all numbers upwards. 

[41.46] (correction) Both references to 41.96 should be to 41.47. 

[41.5] (important correction) The "Barrage Points" row has been screwed
up: 7, 8, 9, 10 have been placed over the same column. Each column
should have only two numbers, thus place 9, 10 in the next column, move
the rest of the numbers one column to the right, and the last column
should read 21+ (not 1+). In addition, Flak Suppression should read Flak
Destruction. 

[41.65B] (clarification) Recon planes may not be attacked (not
"attracted") - and only recon planes. 

[41.65G] (clarification) Note that when the Axis Convoys are completed
all shipments are considered landed. 

[41.67] (clarification) The percentage loss is applied to each and every
type of cargo listed. If the Table says losses are 20%, each type of
cargo loses 20%. 

[41.92] (clarification) The explanation of voluntary combat is in
41.91/4. 

[42.46] (clarification) Fuel may not be airdropped. 

[42.47] (addition) Units that have been airdropped are considered to
have used 5 CP's already. 

[42.53] (clarification) There is a chart for this case, located in the
CW Chart Booklet. 

[43.12] (clarification) The German bombers referred to are He111's,
Ju8SD's, and FW 220's'. 

[44.2] (note) This is a very, confusing system. The most important thing
to remember is that certain planes will be used that are never used or
available for any other part of the game. These "new" planes are always
based on a percentage of the planes actually in play that have been
placed in the Italy/Sicily boxes. 

[44.28, Example] (clarification) The second two squadrons of Ju88A's,
front the Malta Table, are planes that are not available during the
regular course of the game. Losses to these planes are not considered. 

[44.5] (clarification) This chart, used by the CW, is found in the Axis
Booklet. 

[45.0] (clarification to procedure): Yes, Figure B is missing some
planes, but they are unnecessary te the example. Also, the references to
choosing pilots randomly (in the paragraphs below the charts) is
somewhat confusing; ignore them. 

[46.4] (correction) This chart is wrong; the notes at the bottom of Case
46.3 are correct. 

[49.1] (addition) The Fuel Consumption Rate for Trucks and Recce/AC
units is "1". 

[49.13] (clarification) The "Note" refers only to land units. 

[49.14] (clarification) Allhough units have a Fuel Capacity, they are
not, strictly speaking, limited by it. They may always take fuel from a
source (dump, truck, etc.) in the same hex and may always move beyond
their "fuel capacity" limits, if they have expended the fuel points
necssary to that movement segment. 

[49.4] (addition) Infantry-type units in trucks (motorized) that have no
fuel may not Close Assault unless they get out of the trucks. Such units
may defend at normal strengths, but they are considered to have their
non-motorized CPA. Mechanized units and tank/AC/recce units may not
Close Assault or Armour Assault without Fuel. They defend at normal
strencth. However, there will be a two-column adjustment in favor of the
attacker if the defending tank-type units have no fuel. 

[50.12] (important correction) For a unit without ammunition to
surrender, it must be assaulted (either anti-armor or close). Simply
being in an Enemy ZOC or barraged does not cause the unit to surrender. 

[50.2] (addition) Infantry units consume one Ammo point per TOE point
used. 

[52.13] (important correction) The case is wrong, the table is right.
You must roll a "1" to deplete a well. Also note that you may draw as
much water as you call carry in a major city or oasis. 

[54.17] (correction) The % under -1 should be "0", under +7, "100"%. 

[55.11] (correction) Again, the charts are right, the Case wrong. Follow
the chart (55.3) when it comes to what you want to ship in and out, not
this case. 

[55.3] (clarification) It is feasible that, in Game Turns where Axis
Shipping Capacity is "G", their ports won't be able to handle the total
tonnage arriving, (even with CW bombing). If that is the case, any
excess over the usual limit may come in at Tripoli. 

[56.25] (clarification) The Axis Player may allocate his arriving
tonnage to any OpStage within that turn, unless it has already been so
designated elsewhere. 

[56.29] (addition) Players not wishing to be hamstrung by the mandated
arrival rates on the Axis Convoy Level Chart may choose to historically
re-route them. He simply totals the number of times each letter may be
used (e.g. A=3x, G=2x, etc.) and choose which letter he wishes for that
month. He may use a given letter only the number of times it appears.
Moreover, no letter above B may be used twice in succession. (It is
suggested that the Italians use all B's until 1941.) Experiment and try
to formulate some agreeable rule so that the Axis doesn't get everything
at once. 

[56.31] (addition) Axis Coastal Shipping moves four "Tripoli-Tunis"
boxes per Stage. 

[59.2] (correction) The letters Cp are the abbreviation for Corps. Also
the letters TOE, used throughout the rules, literally stand for Table of
Organization and Equipment. Their meaning, for the game, has been
twisted somewhat, and it is not important. 

[59.45] (important notes) This is a rule that should have been placed in
bold letters. All trucks may be loaded with whatever the player wants.
Moreover, at the start of a scenario, a Player may load his trucks with
supplies above and beyond what is listed as being available. 

[60.31] (clarification) Under "Anywhere in Libya", the XXI Corps
Artillery is listed twice. 

[60.32] (correction) The Italian plane listed as 2501 should be Z501. 

[60.45] (important correction) Only the first paragraph of this Case is
correct. Ignore all the information starting with "The following units
are available..." 

[61.38] (correction) The unit listed as ARTR should be 4RTR. 

[61.41] (addition) The German Mobile Tank Recovery Squadron starts in
Tripolitania. 

[62.31 and 63.31] (ommission) Deploy the three CW Tank Delivery
Squadrons in Cairo. 

[62.33] (correction) Those 142 Blenheim IV F's should be Blenheim IV's
(not F's). 

[62.41 and 63.41] (omission) Deploy the German Mobile Tank Recovery
Squadron in Beghazi. 

[63.3] (correction) The Allies should get two airfields, and Degheila
gets only 1 SGSU. 



NB submitted by John Kula (kula@telus.net)
on behalf of the Strategy Gaming Society
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/~sgs), 
originally collected by Andrew Webber 
(gbm@wwwebbers.com)