1815 (GDW) Errata

From Fire and Movement issue 3.

1. Does the defender retreat his own units or does the attacker?
A. The owning player retreats his own units.

2. Are terrain effects cumulative?
A. Yes

3. Is the defensive value of a unit altered if it is assaulted from a combination of directions (this
question assumes the defender is behind a brook or other terrain feature)?

A. The modifiers are only used if all attackers are attacking across a brook or from positions
giving a high ground advantage. Also, the modifiers are in relation to the die roll, not the
defence value.

4. Do disrupted units retain fractions for purposes of movement — do you round up or down?
A.You retain fractions.

5. Regarding rule 9: Why do some units have the ability to come out of disruption easier than
others.

A. T wanted to take into account the very high level of morale/enthusiasm of the French and
the professional steadiness of the British and KGI. This seemed a good way to do it. The other
troops are either bad (in the case of the Hanoverians and Netherlanders) or mostly green (like
the Prussians and Brunswickers).



The following is a list of Q&A that Hank Meyer asked John Astell, and which he kindly passed
on to me. It is in relation to the 2rd edition of the game.

1.Does anything negative happen when a unit already disrupted takes an additional
disruption? I.e. double, triple etc. disruption?
A.No

2.May units stack infinitely in a hex, as long as those overstacked remain disrupted?
AYes

3.May stacked units attacking from the same hex split their attack into different defending
hexes?
AYes

4.Can bombarding artillery units attack over/through friendly units into an enemy unit two
hexes away?
AYes

5.When artillery bombards an enemy unit (at one or two hex range) does this count as an
“attack” such that other adjacent friendly units may ignore ZOC of enemy unit and solely
attack other enemy units whose ZOC they are in? (See diagram: can friendly unit “A” and “B”
ignore enemy unit “Z” and attack enemy units “X” and “Y” since artillery unit “C” is
bombarding enemy unit “Z”?)

AYes

6.If an artillery unit is surrounded by enemy units (completely), it may still elect to make a
bombardment attack (at terrible odds), thus suffering no adverse effects, and force the enemy
to attack it in his player turn. Do I have this right? If I don’t how should I interpret the rules re:
bombardment at one hex?

A.You have this right.

7.Do units retain fractions (as re combat factor) for movement purposes when halved?
A.Yes

8.Up-slope clarification please!
1) Units are moving upslope when they first enter a partial high-ground hex from a low-
ground hex, right?



A.Yes

2)Units are attacking upslope when they are in a partial high-ground hex and attacking
across a full high-ground hexside, right?

A.No, it is the same concept as part 1 of this question. If a unit must move up-slope to
enter a hex, then it is attacking up-slope when it attacks there.

3)No movement penalty occurs when moving from a partial high-ground hex across a
full high-ground hexside into another full or partial high-ground hex, right?

AYes

4)No defending bonus occurs when defender is in partial high-ground hex and attacker
is in low-ground hex or partial high-ground hex attacking across clear or partially clear
hexside, right?

A.No. See answer to part 2 of this question.

9.Command rules:

1)May Ney and Grouchy be used as intermediate links between corps leaders and
Napoleon, thus avoiding die roll for command but extending command radius? I.e. 5 hexes
from Napoleon to Ney and 5 hexes from Ney to corps commander = corps is automatically in
command?

A.No

2)Are all French units and leaders automatically in command on game turn 1?

A.No

3)Are reinforcements ever automatically in command the game turn they arrive, or must
corps leaders roll for command as they enter the game map?

A.No and Yes

10.Movement and stacking: can units stacked together at the beginning of a game turn move
together as a stack? This makes a big difference when moving along the high roads!
A.No

11.01ld Guard rules: Any effect if Old Guard is eliminated during an attack? We assume the
morale effect meant to apply here too, right?
A.Yes, good point.

What if Old Guard is eliminated when defending?
A.No effect.

12.Netherlands disruption: They can’t recover from disruption except on the next early
morning game turn, right (the +3 modifier prevents turn by turn recovery)?
A.Yes, that’s correct.

13.Shock points: If one side has no shock points, and the other has more than zero but less
than one (as averaged by the number of units on that side), then the side with average
fractional (but greater than zero) shock points gets a die roll modification, right?

A.Yes.

If one side had 2 shock points per unit and the other had 2/3 shock points per unit, the side
with 2/3 would get a die roll modification, right?
A.Yes.

I can’t see how a unit/units could ever get a 2 point die roll modification unless each unit has
2 shock points (excepting artillery, of course) and none of the defending units have any shock
points. Is this reading the rules correctly?

e.g. two cavalry units (each with 2 shock points) attack an enemy unit with no shock points.
Result = favourable die roll modification of 2.

BUT: the same two cavalry units attacking the same enemy unit, but with a friendly
infantry or cavalry unit (with none or one shock point) join the attack. Result: average shock
points less than 2, hence favourable die roll modification of only 1.

AYes.



14 . When determining average shock points, can we ignore the Prussian 4 Hussar Regiment as
the rules say we can ignore the French Gendarmerie d’Elite?
A.No

15.Can cavalry withdraw before combat from a bombardment attack at one hex?........ at two
hexes? (the assumption is no....if they put themselves in front of an emplaced battery either by
design or default, they should get blown away!)

A.No

What happens if a “0” strength unit is forced (by itself) into an attack situation?
l)automatic ARL
2)automatic roll on the 1-5 odds column
3)automatic elimination

All)

Can “0” strength units voluntarily be placed in attack situations?
A.Yes.

In either of the above situations, does the “0” strength unit satisfy the conditions of counting
as an attack, so that some other friendly unit (also adjacent to the same enemy unit the “0”
strength unit is) may allow the “0” strength unit to “soak off” while it attacks someone else?
AYes.

16.Terrain effects: when a single friendly unit is attacking multiple enemy units, one of which
is in terrain granting defender favourable die modification and the other defending unit is not,
both defenders get advantage of the favourable terrain, right?

A.Yes.

17.Leaders forced to flee: If the nearest friendly units are “behind enemy lines” ....that is, cut
off from the leader by enemy units or ZOC, can leader still displace to that unit? I.e. Is this five
hexes as the crow flies, or five hexes not through enemy units/enemy ZOC?

A.Yes, this is five hexes as the crow flies.

18.May blown cavalry retreat before combat?
A.Yes

May disrupted cavalry retreat before combat?
AYes

19.Do defending units normally considered upslope from attacking units get die roll
modification when attacked by artillery bombardment at one or two hex range?
AYes

20.May an artillery unit that starts morale phase disrupted, but recovers in the morale phase
bombard in the combat phase if it did not move?
A.Yes

21.When the Old Guard becomes disrupted, exactly when does the required morale chack of
nearby units take place? Immediately, right?
AYes

And they must immediately withdraw before any further French combat takes place that
combat phase?
A.Yes

22.The friendly/non-friendly road rule is rather a pain to keep track of. Especially as single
cavalry units can descend on an entire army’s supply line the last game turn before night, and
the other side can’t subsequently drive them off before dawn, whereupon the other side’s army
mostly vanishes. Is this what’s supposed to happen?



A.That’s what is allowed to happen. It strikes me that a player should play so as to prevent the
other player from doing this.

23.What happened to the optional weather rules from the 1st edition?
Al didn’t like them much and deleted them.



