MIGHTY FORTRESS ERRATA

(as of Mar 78)

The following changes and corrections are the result of several letters (OK, more than several) questioning certain aspects of the game. One major change has been effected -- that referring to the process of conversion. The former conversion method was much too easy for the Lutherans and resulted in some rather ludicrous situations (and even more ludicrous schemes). That has, hopefully, been somwhat remedied here. Other corrections refer to Order of Battle, map misprints, and general problem areas. However, the game is diplomatic in nature and the number of problems is virtually unforeseeable. Rather than correct and detail every single possibility we will trust that the players will undertake the game in the spirit of the era.

Another and final note. AMF was designed to be a simple game. The few complexities that it does contain were added with some reluctance. Therefore, A Mighty Fortress is not a definitive picture of the political-military-economic situation in the 16th century. The idea was to present the European picture in basic, strategic terms. Much has been purposely omitted; even more has been abstracted in. Then again, how accurate is Diplomacy?

Corrections to the Game-Map:

Corrections to the Turn Record Track:

Corrections to 16.2. City Income Schedule:

Corrections to the Player Cards:

Corrections to the Rules:

[3.12] (clarification) Scotland and France are separate areas, even though they are allied to each other. For purposes of defining that alliance, Scotland is considered part of France, with no insult to the Scots intended. This also means you do not have to take Scotland to take France.

[3.15] (addition) The country of Sweden is Lutheran in religion only. It is not controlled by the Lutheran player in the sense of 12.0.

[8.45] (clarification) There has been some trouble with this rule vis a vis the Papal-occupied cities of Cologne, Mainz and Trier. Although, technically these cities are in Germany, for the purposes of this rule they are considered part of the Papal States. Thus they may be attacked and entered by Lutherans without having first been converted. The Papal armies in those cities are, of course, immune from 8.46 -- as long as they stay in the cities.

[10.23] (major change) Conversion of an area from one religion to another may take in either of the two following ways:

[10.26] (addition) 4. The Papal States may not be converted. This applies only to the area in Italy.

[14.1] (clarification) No matter what it says anywhere else, to gain points for conversion of an area other than one you held at the beginning of the game you must have a Missionary in that area.

[16.47] (addition) As part of the terms to a loan, a player may "lend" one of his armies to the other player. A player may not "loan" more than one army at any given time.

[17.2.d] (clarification) This rule covers Voluntary conversion to the Lutheranism simply by stating you are converting. A Catholic player who states, "I am converting to Lutheranism" may still be excommunicated by the Pope. Note further that the Pope must initiate the Excommunication process immediately; this means in the immediate ensuing Diplomacy Phase (or in the Diplomacy Phase they are now in if that is when the conversion occurs). Simply serving a Papal Bull is enough to initiate the process.

[17.24] (change) Communication does not stop immediately upon a country becoming Lutheran. It continues for three years after the year the country becomes Lutheran.

[21.0] ARMIES OF NEUTRALS

(optional rule)

GENERAL RULE:

In the Basic Game all the Neutral are not only Neutral, they are unprotected. This was done for the purpose of simplicity. The following rules add a little flavor to the game -- and a lot of problems -- in the form of Neutral Armies.

[21.1] WHO IS NEUTRAL

For the purposes of this rule all Bright Yellow areas are Neutral, with the exception of Poland. (No military units may enter Poland.) Furthermore Sweden is also considered a Neutral for this purpose.

[21.2] NEUTRAL ARMIES

[21.21] Each city in a neutral area has a garrison/army equivalent to its army capacity for that city. Thus, Venice has an "Army" of four points while Lisbon has an Army of six points. The Naval points are ignored for this rule.

[21.22] No coumters are used -- or needed. Players keep track of any change in the status of a neutral city on a piece of paper.

[21.23] In order to occupy/control a neutral area, a Player must eliminate the garrison of all cities in that area. Any retreat result is treated as an elimination (for the defending neutral army).

[21.24] Once eliminated, a neutral army may not be reformed.

[21.25] Neutral armies may never be controlled by another player. They may only be eliminated.

[21.26] All rules that apply to religous conversion (i.e., the new 10.23) apply to neutrals.


Typed in (from an original Errata Sheet found in later copies of the game) by
Jörg Heuer (jh@first.gmd.de),
in the believe, that (even not explicitely permitted) reproduction of an Errata does not do any harm to anyone, but does help many.