Successors Errata

Successors: The Battles for Alexander's Empire

Errata and Clarifications

January 16, 1998




5.1 and 27 Is the turn order phase the only time you adjust your VP count? Legitimacy level?
A. No, you adjust them the instant they change.

5.5 Typo - In the sequence of a round, the Tyche Segment is second and the Movement Segment is third, despite the incorrect numerals on page 3.

6.3, 10.10 and 17.4 Does moving in/out of a city or conducting a siege/subjugation count to prevent the raising of troops?
A. Yes, when done during the movement segment.

ERRATA for 6.4 Restrictions: Reinforcements, raised troops, generals and returning units/generals cannot be placed in a space containing unbesieged enemy units or Independent armies.

6.4 Can a besieging player place reinforcements, raised troops and generals with a major general conducting a siege?
A. Yes.

7, 8 and 9 Can players voluntarily trade garrisons or Tyche cards or CUs?
A. No, transfers are only allowed within the specified rules governing surrender, Tyche card play and desertions.

ERRATA for 7.4: The dropped lines from the third garrison restriction are: "the intervening space may not contain an enemy garrison, enemy army, hostile tribe or independent marker."

7.4 Can you use sea routes for placing garrisons in the Tyche card segment?
A. Yes. Such placement cannot be stopped by enemy fleets.

8.4 and 8.9 Clarification: "Must Be Played" Unrest Bonus Cards may not be ignored, but must be played.

8.5 Is there an order by which players play surprise cards, in battles for instance?
A. No, you play surprise cards at any time on a first-come-first serve basis.

8.6 Must a general arrive at his optional starting location?
A. No, he may be placed according to rule 6.4 if you choose to not place him in the optional starting location.

8.6 If during the course of Tyche card play, a general is placed in his optional starting location province, does he place garrison markers as well?
A. Yes, but only in those spaces that are empty.

8.9 If all non-independent spaces have CUs, do you re-roll for location of unrest?
A. No.

9.2 Can you place a minor general after you see the movement die roll?
A. Yes - at any time during your turn.

ERRATA for 9.2 and 14.11: Whenever the commanding General is killed in a leader loss check (and no other friendly Major General is stacked with the army), an available Minor General from off the board may be placed instantly to take command of the army. If none are available, then uncommanded CUs in an unfriendly space are placed in the "Dispersed Box" with a friendly garrison marker to show ownership.

9.7 How many movement points does an army have which was activated by a minor general with two movement points and moves one space and joins the army of a major general yet to move who has four movement points?
A. The original army CUs can move no more than the least of: a) their original movement points or b) the major general’s movement points, in both cases, subtracting points already consumed by the original army before continuing.

10.5 and 4.3 Can you drop off a CU without a Minor General by placing it under a friendly garrison marker?
A. Yes.

ERRATA for 10.9: The five-to-one superiority ratio required should be measured in CUs not combat strength.

ERRATA for 12.2: You may not intercept an enemy army or General moving into a space containing an unbesieged enemy CU.

12.2 Must the naval combat take place in the last space of the naval movement?
A. No, this section refers to restrictions on land interceptions. The point of that restriction is that if an army passes through a space via sea movement, an army on land cannot intercept it, except at its landing point at the end of the naval movement. Naval combat is possible at any point along the sea route (see 16.3).

13 May other CUs / generals be picked up by an army avoiding battle as it passes through the space?
A. Yes.

ERRATA for 13.6, third sentence Add "sea routes." It should read: "Just like in Avoid Battles, an army may not avoid an interception if the space it must back up into is across a mountain pass/strait or sea route or into a space containing an enemy CU, enemy garrison or independent marker."

14.11 What happens to units on an enemy garrison when they lose their leader in a leader loss check?
A. Place a minor general with them if available. Otherwise, they are dispersed (mark them in the dispersed box with your garrison marker), leaving royal markers on the board in place.

16.4 Do Generals apply their battle rating to naval combat?
A. No.

16.4 Can you fight naval battles with less than all of your fleets?
A. Yes, the moving player declares as he starts his naval movement which fleets are escorting. Intercepting players may declare interception with any number of their own fleets.

16.6 When can you discard to upgrade a fleet?
A. You can only discard in your Tyche segment.

17.2 If the last CU inside a besieged city is sacrificed to cancel a siege point and keep the total below three points, when does the now-empty city fall?
A. It will automatically fall in the besieger's surrender segment of his next round. The enemy garrison can be removed later in the round if you can still expend MPs to conduct a siege and gain a the necessary siege points.

17.3 If all of your fleets are dispersed, do you suffer the siege penalty against a port major city?
A. Yes, althouth you still control the fleet points, they cannot operate while dispersed and therefore cannot assist the siege.

19.1 Can Independent armies fight each other?
A. No, Indepedent armies are hostile only to other players; they are completely friendly towards each other and Independent markers. They may co-exist and defend in battle together as one combined force. They must be moved separately, though meaning they may not attack together.

19.1 Can you Avoid Battle with an Independent army?
A. Yes.

19.3 What happens to an Independent army in a drawn battle?
A. It is unchanged; it does not lose strength in drawn battles. If it was the attacker, it retreats one space and is only eliminated if retreating across a mountain pass or strait.

19.3 What happens to the newly won prestige point gained in a victory over an independent army when the victorious commanding general dies in a leader loss check; can his subordinate general gain it?
A. No, the point dies with the dying commanding general.

20.1 and 10.9 How does attrition relate to overruns?
A. The overrun force is treated as a defeated army (see 14.8), which may require an attrition die roll. The attacker is not affected in any way by the overrun.

20.3 Do enemy CUs in a major city space count as CUs in the space when resolving the forage segment?
A. No, count only your own CUs during the forage segment.

22.2 and 22.6 Typo The reference regarding Alexander's Body should be to rule 23.6 not 22.6. There are no rules numbered 22.5 or 22.6.

23.2 and 28 Does the Usuper lose Champion status when attacking the other player? Even in a two-player game?
A. Yes. Yes.

23.2, 23.8 and 14.3 Clarification: The loss of Champion status is solely related to movement into a space containing non-usurper player's CUs. The only player that can lose Champion status in a round is the player moving. He loses it if intercepted on land (naval combat has absolutely no bearing on Champion status), even if successfully avoiding battle.

23.4 If the husband dies, does the wife and her legitimacy remain in the faction?
A. Yes, until captured or remarried, she still works in favor of her deceased husband's faction. Remember legitimacy is a faction-wide concept, so his death has no impact on legitimacy, only on who is guarding her from capture.

23.5 Typo - The Tyche card reference should be "#15, #53 or #54."

23.6 Can the body be buried in Babylon on turn 1?
A. No.

23.6 Can the body be buried in the Pella space when you do not control it?
A. No, you must control the major city at which the body is buried. The reference to "in or outside the city" simply allows the major general to bury the body at a friendly Pella but remain in the field with his army.

25.2 Do RA units stand aside in overruns or sieges?
A. No, the rule applies to battles alone. They still defend and attack for their owner normally in sieges and overruns.

25.2 Does the second to last sentence only apply to the army with the least legitimacy?
A. Yes, only the standing aside RA units have a chance to switch sides. A losing general with more legitimacy would retain control of his RA units, undergo attrition, and be dispersed.

ERRATA for 26.3 If Antipater dies prior to turn 3, Cassander instantly replaces him. Cassander is rank zero. The 2L for Strategos of Europe goes to the faction controlling Macedonia -- it is not a permanent attribute of Antipater nor of Cassander.

26.4 and 26.5 What happens if Heracles or Alexander IV are uncontrolled at the moment they come of age?
A. The game ends instantly with proclamation of the new king. Count victory plus legitimacy as described.

27 and 28 In two- and three-player games we have run into this situation: can VPs go above 29?
A. Yes, you are not deprived of the VPs. Record this level of VPs by stacking a garrison marker with your VP marker and placing them in the spot corresponding to your VP level minus 30.

27.2 Do you lose the VPs if your fleets are dispersed?
A. No, you retain control of the largest fleet, even when dispersed, until such time as another player establishes their own control of the fleets (see 16.2).

TYCHE CARDS

#1-4 Major Campaigns. Can the moving army pickup CUs and other armies along the way? Can it change command during movement (as in 9.7)? Can it drop off CUs and subordinate generals?
A. Yes. Yes. Yes.

#8 The Indian Elephant Corps. Can the Elephants arrive inside a besieged city? Can they arrive with a besieger?
A. No. No. The event cannot be played if Ecbatana is besieged and Babylon is uncontrolled or friendly but besieged.

#15. Olympias. Is she restricted from joining Cassander's faction after Antipater's death?
A. Yes, Cassander inherits the antipathy as well.

#20-23. Unrest/Unrest Spreads. Do you place one marker or as many as possible? Can it be placed in a major city?
A. One. Yes.

#29 Helepolis. When may it be removed voluntarily?
A. The besieger may remove it at any time in his turn, including immediately after successful siege (you might as well remove it, since it cannot be moved and thereafter is useless to you, barring replay of the card).

#31 Persian Popular Support. Does it go away upon death of the general upon which it was played?
A. Yes, the marker is assigned to a general and will be removed upon death of that general.

#35 and 52 Drink the Hemlock/Olympias Murders Philip III. Can these cards be played on enemy forces in the same space during a siege?
A. Yes, it was common to bribe servants to carry out assassinations. You need not control the Royal counter to implement the card.

#43 Salvation in the 11th Hour. Do RA units get dispersed or join the side playing the card?
A. RA units are dispersed.

#47 and 48 Does discard of the Cretan Liar affect control of the Cilician Pirates?
A. No, the card must be validly played as a Surprise card.

#53 and 54 Cleopatra/Thessalonice Marriage Offers. If already activated (and married to living general), may these cards be played to marry her to a different general? Even to an enemy of the current husband?
A. Yes. Yes. Divorce was common and these women played an active role in Macedonian politics—marriage did not suborn a regal woman to silent obedience to a husband. A wife whose children were not getting due consideration for inheritance was quick to turn on a husband.